Summer Base

Summer Base copy

 

If you’re anywhere near as make up-obsessed as me you’ll have experienced an overwhelming urge to run out and buy the YSL Touche Éclat foundation so, just before my holiday to Skiathos (and you can read all about that here and see some holiday snaps!), I went out and did just that. Yes, I got over excited on a John Lewis trip a week before I went to get a tan and got a foundation colour matched to my pasty, british skin.. I know. So half way through my holiday getting ready for dinner out I realised my catastrophic mistake as I ghosted (ghosted?) up my face. My make do resolution was to mix it with my slightly darker Estée Lauder Double Wear with the Touche Éclat and whoa what a resolution it was. Since trying this the first time I think I’ve worn this, with my Bobbi Brown creamy concealer kit, everyday since !

I mix them about 2 parts YSL, 1 part Double Wear on the back of my hand and then apply with my real techniques face expert brush. I will say that if you have or are considering buying the Double Wear foundation an investment in a MAC foundation pump is definitely worth while; as you can see it fits perfectly, all you have to do is cut the tube bit down at an angle a tad as it’s a little long !

Mixing the two means that you get the beautiful finish of the Touche Éclat with a little extra coverage and a staying power booster from Estée Lauder, opposites attract and all that !

Do you ever mix foundations together? What’s your favourite base for summer?

 

One thought on “Summer Base

  1. Pingback: July Favourites | of Dreams and Stardust

Leave a Reply

